top of page
Writer's pictureLife Cafe

Some Days are Better Than Others

I have written, deleted, and rewritten this more times than I can count.


In fact, I wasn’t even sure I wanted to post it, but when I realized May is Mental Health Awareness month, I know I needed to….


A few months ago as Sam and I were in the car headed home, I realized that I had been more moody, snappy, and emotional than ever before. What is happening? I thought over and over. Why can’t I get this under control?


As more time passed, the mood swings started getting worse. I reached the point of feeling completely hopeless at times. There were more and more moments where I just felt defeated and began thinking ‘What’s the point?’


I began to keep track of the mood swings as they came on. It would come in a wave – anger, sadness, defeat, and then hopelessness. In that order, and as time went on, they would become stronger, and heightened. It would last for hours sometimes even an entire day. I started to get headaches afterwards and felt so tired afterwards that I didn’t want to do anything.


It got to the point where thoughts started to flood my mind – negative thoughts. I began tearing myself down from the inside. Mentally telling myself that I wasn’t good enough, pretty enough, smart enough. I starting questioning everything that I was doing, I started questioning why Sam would even bother dating me.


The worst part was when the thoughts began to overload my brain. I felt as though I couldn’t stop them; it was a whole different person telling me these things and I couldn’t fight back.



Each time they filled my mind, everything else went numb.


The beginning of April, I started my period as usual. Only this time it lasted the entire month… Perhaps my hormones were off? I immediately thought the mood swings were connected to my birth control. I had only been back on it for a couple months and after the pregnancy, maybe my body was reacting differently? Maybe it wasn’t strong enough? All I knew is that I wasn’t myself. I could tell there was something wrong. I hated these feeling that were overcoming me.


I went to the doctor in the beginning of May, in hopes to get this all taken care of. The appointment lasted an hour and a half and I walked out with a new birth control prescription, some headache medication and information I was less than thrilled to hear.


I was told I have Post-Partum Depression.


Why?


How?


I don’t want it!


The doctor went over a list of things that I can do to help tackle it as at home, but all I could do was feel the negative thought rush through my head.


It’s your fault. You’ll never beat it. Don’t even try. There’s no escape.  Don’t bother. You’re not worth it.


I sat in my car for a few minutes unable to move. I didn’t even want to drive home. What was I expected to do next?


 

Fast Forward to today….


I have seen an improvement on the mood swings, but the thoughts still come and go.


Every day is a struggle. Trying to fight back and control the thoughts that try to control me is a daily battle.


Sam is fighting to get me more active. I love him even more for sticking by my side through this emotional rollercoaster, dispute some of the thought I have.


So, in honor of Mental Health Awareness Month - This is the first time I’m telling anyone outside of Sam. I haven’t told anyone in my family until today (if they’re choosing to read this).


Reach out for treatment or support if you are living with a mental health disorder. Know that you are never alone.  Share your story and inspire others facing similar challenges in their lives.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page